A lot can happen in two hours

A few weeks ago I met a boy. A very nice, attentive, attractive and chatty boy. Typically in dating situations I am the aggressor and the chatty one (stunning, I know). But this guy, we’ll call him “Chet”, was by far the chatty aggressor – and I was thrilled.

After a few days of very frequent texts (read: several an hour), we decided to go on a date that weekend. I wanted to take him to see a friend’s improv show, and when I asked “Do you want to see an improv thing?” he said “I was going to suggest a comedy show.” – we were talking about the same show. Clearly we were soul mates. I was smitten.

I had to go to Seattle for work and ended up having to stay the weekend. In short, I was cock-blocked by my creative director. Cuz, you know, who has plans the weekend before Christmas? (Don’t worry, I’m not bitter). I broke the news to “Chet” and we even kicked around the idea of using my SkyMiles to bring him out to spend the weekend in Seattle. Alas, we decided that was a no go (three cheers for hindsight) and he stayed put in Indianapolis, with the promise we’d go on a date the following Thursday. We continued with the frequent texting and chatting, both looking forward to Thursday.

Enter Wednesday night when he told me he needed to babysit for his sister. No problem, family comes first. And I can’t legit be upset when I had cancelled on him the week prior. We decided we’d get through the holidays and figure out another date. All the while texting daily.

Enter yesterday: We’ve been texting a bit less, but still several times a day. Yesterday “Chet” was in route to Texas and we checked in at nearly every state border of his drive. Last evening when I was out with friends, I drunk texted something like this:

“Hi you. So, now that we’re beyond the big holiday, how about we set up that date? Or has the window of opportunity closed? :)”

That last bit was merely playful, you know, since we’ve been texting daily for two weeks.

Here’s the response I got:

“Actually, I’ve started seeing someone since we last talked.”

SINCE WE’VE LAST TALKED?!

As in – two hours ago?

As in – while you were on the road?

Did you meet at a rest stop?

In the lobby of the Ho Jo’s over shrimp cocktail?

While perusing ribbon candy in the country store at the Cracker Barrel?

So many questions and so not worth the time.

Dueces, “Chet.” Your number has been duh-leted.

Leave a comment